Register your AED device in the City and County of Denver

Denver Health Paramedic Division protocols – Updated June 5, 2015

2014 Annual Report


DHPD Wellness

The Denver Health Paramedic Division is the sole provider of emergency medical services for the City and County of Denver, Colorado. Our mission is to provide professional, compassionate and clinically excellent care to every patient, with every encounter, through a culture of integrity and continuous improvement.

A division of Denver Health and Hospital Authority, we provide 911 services to residents of Denver, as well as the cities of Glendale, Sheridan and Englewood and the Skyline Fire Protection District. The Denver Health Paramedic Division employs 189 paramedics, 36 emergency medical technicians (EMTs) and has a command staff of 32. We responded to 99,667 calls in 2014.

Through the Rita Bass Trauma and EMS Education Institute, Denver Health Paramedics provides training for EMTs and paramedics, as well as continuing education and community training. In 2014, 31 new paramedics and 109 new EMTs graduated from our prestigious program.


Every year, the Denver Health Paramedic Division honors individuals who went above and beyond in their roles within the division. Many of the awards are based on recommendations from fellow employees, while others are made at the discretion of the command staff and the medical director. All awards are based on exemplary performance and dedication to the EMS profession. Categories include pre-hospital providers, emergency communication specialists, EMS educators and leaders as well as ancillary agencies and civilians.

Please join me in congratulating our 2014 winners!

Leah Buff (The Chief’s Award); Jordan Christensen (Medical Director’s Award); Tim Brown (Paramedicine Award); Austin Mori (Field Trainer of the Year Award); Joseph Blunn (Field Trainer’s Award); Susan Sheehan (EMS Educator of the Year); Devon Everts (Ray Norris Excellence in Communication Award); Ben Dunn (Employee of the Year Award); Sarah Meyers (EMT of the Year Award); Robert Petre (Leadership Award); Stephanie Thomas (Lifetime Achievement Award); John LeBel (Distinctive Service Citation)


Scott Bookman
Chief Paramedic